GUEST POST: STYLE ICON: Hedy Lamarr

This week’s Style Icon post is from a fabulous blogger who I only discovered when she emailed me to ask if she could write this post. When I clicked over to her blog and discovered that she’s just 16, I was more than a little impressed! Ten years ago (yes, I am 26) I was addicted to Dawson’s Creek and wearing strange floral corduroy skirts – definitely not fashion blog territory.


Well, the blogger behind Through Tinted Glass, Nivedita is one fashion conscious blogger who has her head firmly screwed on. When I asked Nivedita to tell me a little about herself and the blog, she told me:


“Although I’d have liked to have studied specializing in fashion media/journalism or just literature in general, on my parents and teachers insistence and my own logical reasoning, I figured it’d be better to have a firm base of a degree in engineering or something so I’d have something to fall back on if my literary career bombshells. Science and Math are something I’m good at even though I don’t like them as much as I like language.”


So it should come as no real surprise that Nivedita has chosen a style icon with the formidable combination of brains and beauty:

Hedy Lamarr is known as “The Most Beautiful Woman in Films” and I must say, that is very true. Judge for yourself:

She was born Hedwig Eva Maria Kiesler on November 9, 1914 in Vienna, Austria. At 17 years old Hedy starred in her first film. As if being a talented actress wasn’t enough, this woman was also a brilliant rocket scientist. She invented and patented a system called ‘frequency hopping’ that thwarted efforts to jam missile signals. No doubt it was useful in military communications in WWII, but today also, this system is used in mobile phones.

Whether experimenting in the lab, while receiving awards, hanging around at home or on the sets, this doe eyed beauty makes everything look so chic. Her makeup accentuates her naturally beautiful eyes and makes her lips pop. You can translate this look by trying a cat-eye and a fitting red shade of lip tint.

Her hair was always a shoulder length bob that framed her face. This cut is a great try for spring too, especially for those with a heart shaped face. She almost always wore dresses (unless the situation did not permit). Her go-to’s were either off shoulders or simple flattering A-lines with feminine touches like lace, pleats and florals.

Wherever she went she was classy and professional (her style can easily be translated into business dressing) and flaunted her most attractive aspect, her confidence.


What do you think of Nivedita’s style? Who is your style icon?

If you have missed the previous style icons featured on the blog, check them out here.


I am seeking for bloggers who would like to write a guest post for this series (see here for previous guest bloggers on this site) about their Style Icon. Please get in touch if you would like to get involved. You can find out more here.

About sugarandspicesg

fashion blogger
This entry was posted in guest blogger, style icon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment