Blogger Style Icon: Barbie of the Day

Exclusively for Sugar and Spice

This week’s Blogger Style Icon is Barbie of the Day: The Ultimate Style Icon. This plastic fantistic icon of our youth is always dressed to impress. I was delighted when the blogger behind Barbie of the Day agreed to be involved in the series, and couldn’t wait to ask:

What influences your style choices?


Because Barbie of the Day is a daily blog we are influenced and inspired by everything be it a news article, a red carpet event or a fashion show. Sometimes just seeing someone in the street in an odd colour combination makes me want to rush home and recreate the look in miniature.

Glamour in the sun

Where do you mainly shop for new pieces for your wardrobe?

Never underestimate a size 18 lace dress in Primark. I love shopping the sales there when I’m in the UK and always buy enormous sizes to get the most fabric. A jersey maxi dress can create hundreds of mini dresses for my top mo-dolls. I spend a lot on miniature accessories on eBay too as well as Barbie lingerie and jewelry.

Who is your style icon?

Barbieoftheday.com is dedicated to the ultimate style icon, or so it says on my website. Barbie is a great icon. She has always existed in my mind as this blonde bombshell. I used to think how ugly the girls were at my school and wondered why they didn’t have perfect hair and legs that went on for miles. I always thought that if I was a girl I would look like Barbie, with cascading blonde hair and a wardrobe full of clothes and not just clothes but identities. One day she can be a cute pink frothy dumbo and others she can be a goth or rocker or a scientist or whatever.

Red Carpet Style

Barbie is the ultimate blonde but other blonde style icons who continue to inspire are of course GaGa, Donatella Versace, Madonna and Grace Kelly.

Which blogger is your style icon?

Brunette Barbie

I bloody love A Model Recommends. Ruth Crilly mentioned barbieoftheday in an interview and we became friends on Twitter. It took a while for us to actually be in the same country at the same time but when we finally met in person we got on like a house on fire. She works really hard and has a great blog. The fact that she is gorgeous is obviously slightly annoying but I try to get past that.

Which blogger is your style icon? Which blogs to you go to when you need style inspiration?

If you know someone who you think should be included in this series, leave a comment on this post, or send me an email. If you would like to write a guest post for Sugar and Spice about who your blogger style icon is, or any other topic, you can find all of the information you need here.

Please nominate me in the “Established Fashion Blog” category
About sugarandspicesg

fashion blogger
This entry was posted in blogger style icon, style icon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

