Beauty Review: Dior Addict Lipstick

I’m sure you’ve seen the adverts starring Kate Moss for the new Dior Addict Lipsticks? Honestly, Kate Moss could probably sell me anything she advertised – I was a huge Rimmel fan during her time there. But now she is encouraging me to try something a little more luxurious and I’m happy to be easily led by the supermodel.

When I was passing through John Lewis one evening after work last week, I stopped to take a look at the Dior stand and before I knew it, I was in the make-up chair and having my face made up. I usually end up going home from a make-up trial session and removing every last drop of make-up from my face. I usually find that they have piled the make-up on and I look like one of those brides who walks down the aisle on her wedding day looking like the drag version of herself!! But not today. Not one bit. I loved the look I was given.

The minute my make-up man put the Dior Addict lipstick in Diorkiss (the shade that Moss wears in the advertising campaign) on I loved it. L-o-v-e-d. It is a wonderfully pigmented sheer lipstick and for the first time, I didn’t hate a bright colour on me. Result. The consistency of the lipstick is a little like a lip gloss which means that it goes on easily but doesn’t last for hours. But that only means you’ll have to get out your beautifully packaged Dior lipstick to reapply!

“My make-up man” at the Dior counter used a lip liner in Candy Rose first. I’ve always been a little cautious about lip liners, thinking they look a little ’80s. But instead he lightly brushed the pencil over my lips, almost feathering it all over my lips to give a good matte base colour. It also helps to keep some colour on the lips when the lipstick starts to rub off a little and before you have a chance to reapply. This is how my lips looked after a few hours of wear:

Of course, when “my make-up man” asked me if I’d like to try some more Dior make-up, I didn’t hesitate to say yes! So he tried Dior’s Diorskin Nude Compact. The Compact is a wonderful multi-tasking product – something you all know I love. It is a mineralised foundation, bronzer and highlighter that can be used altogether or separately. My make-up man event used the bronzer as a neutral eyeshadow and the highlighter on the brow bone:

To finish the look, my make-up man filled in my eyebrows with an Dior Powder Eyebrow Pencil. I never do anything to my eyebrows (I barely pluck them these days) but I had to admit that they did frame my eyes better:

And finally he added some mascara. I’m really annoyed that I didn’t check which mascara he used as it really did curl my lashes beautifully.

*Top Tip from the Dior man: use a little lip balm (like Dior’s Creme De Rose which smells divine) before applying any lipstick but allow it to dry first or dab it dry, otherwise the lipstick won’t stick.


Have you tried the Dior Addict lipsticks? Or any of the rest of the Dior make-up collection?

About sugarandspicesg

fashion blogger
This entry was posted in beauty review, dior. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

