Blogger Style Icon: Amanda, aka The Online Stylist

Source

For a long while now I have been wondering how to move forward with the Style Icon series which has run on this blog for nearly 18 months. A few people suggested to me that I feature bloggers who are style icons as it seems that more and more often bloggers are influencing our style choices (something which is discussed and encouraged in many of the Friend Friday posts). Last month, I found myself lusting after a dress posted by Amanda, of The Online Stylist, and then buying the dress in question. Then it turned out that I was not the only one to be influenced by The Online Stylist: turns out the lovely lady behind Looking Fab at Any Age was also inspired to go purchase a dress, after seeing it on Amanda. So it seemed only right that Amanda be the first fashion blogger to be featured in the new and improved Style Icon posts:

STYLE INSPIRATION: the dress I bought; and the dress Fab in your 40s bought!

The obvious factor which turns many a fashion blogger into a style icon, is the fact that they show how to wear affordable fashions and catwalk trends and how these can be translated into everyday life.

Amanda excels at mixing high end fashion with high street finds – something that she also does seamlessly in her posts too:

MIXING HIGH END FASHION AND HIGH STREET FINDS: Alexander Wang T, Michael Kors bag and Next skirt

I asked Amanda:

What influences your style choices?

** I always look for investment pieces where possible and then top up with a few trend led pieces. Cost obviously plays a big part – if I had a bigger budget I would choose a few more high end pieces but I think there are so many great options on the high street now that we’re spoilt for choice. I’m a huge believer in spending on a great bag or some statement shoes once a year.

Where do you mainly shop for new pieces for your wardrobe?

** Zara is a current hot favourite as is My-Wardobe.com. I’m also in love with practically everything Dorothy Perkins are doing – I feel they’ve really upped their game recently and can’t wait for the AW11 lines to hit the shops.

Who is your style icon? (I think I can probably guess this!! Haha! – see what I mean here!)

** Yes you did guess right! That would be Olivia Palermo… the ultimate in glossy, groomed Manhattan chic. To say I’m obsessed with what she wears would be an understatement! She just has this knack of putting pieces together and looking stunning. The fact that she is beautiful helps a great deal but her ability to mix high street with high end is legendary in my book. If I ever met her I wouldn’t know what to say.. I’m sure it would be highly embarrassing!

Which blogger is your style icon? (who do you think I should approach next?!!)

** Ooh.. that’s a toughie. There are so many amazing style bloggers out there but one I have to check in with everyday is Jessica Quirk at What I Wore. I cannot believe I’ve only recently discovered her blog! She has such great individual style and always looks amazing in her outfit photos. She smiles, looks happy and to me, looks like someone you’d want to be friends with… a real girl who puts amazing outfits together. I’ve pre-ordered her book on Amazon as I can’t wait to see it!

MAXI STYLE IMPACT: Lipsy maxi; and Zara maxi.

What do you think of Amanda’s style? Which blogger is your style icon? Which blogs to you go to when you need style inspiration?

If you know someone who you think should be included in this series, leave a comment on this post, or send me an email. If you would like to write a guest post for Sugar and Spice about who your blogger style icon is, or any other topic, you can find all of the information you need here.

About sugarandspicesg

fashion blogger
This entry was posted in blogger style icon, style icon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

