How to… Dress on holiday in Ibiza

I know that when my girlfriends and I first booked our little sojourn to the party isle many of us had a little panic over what to pack and turned to the internet for assistance. Now that I have been, I thought I would add my own little bit of wisdom to the pile:

Girls on the beach by Cafe Mambo – photo taken by my friend.
  • Beachwear. During the day you will – if you’re anything like us – spend much of your time by the pool or on the beach or somewhere in between the two! Pack your bikinis/tankinis/swimsuits/whatever you prefer. For some a pair of denim hot pants is all that is needed. For others, add a maxi dress/kaftan/cover-up. Personally, I favoured a pair of H&M denim cut-offs and a loose vest.
  • Take a hat. For two reasons: 1. It’ll keep your head covered and stop you getting sun stroke. And 2. It looks cool!
  • For early evening drinks and dinner I’d recommend something more casual than your club wear (see below) but slightly more dressy than your poolside look. Saying that – we quickly learned that in Ibiza, anything goes!!! But my recommendations would be: A maxi dress and flats/espadrille wedges; or a playsuit/jumpsuit. These were my outfits of choice!
  • For club wear, ANYTHING goes!!!! We saw one girl in a rather risqué outfit – wearing a leopard print body with black hot pants underneath! Finished off with a massive pair of stilettos!
  • My advice would be, think: sequins, crop tops, hot pants, lace, crochet. It will be hot in the clubs, so less is definitely better!
  • I’d also advise flat sandals for dancing the night away until the wee hours – but if that’s not your bag, just make sure you can last for hours on your heels!
  • Glitter – another festival favourite and one for Ibiza too! But I’ll leave that for another post (what to pack in your toiletries bag for Ibiza!!!).
  • Glow bands – bracelets and necklaces – fill your arms with them. We did!!

Me: glowing!!


Have you been to Ibiza? Do you have any further tips to add – I know I have only just touched the surface here, so please do add to it and make this a really good resource!!


If not Ibiza, where are you going on your holidays this summer?
About sugarandspicesg

fashion blogger
This entry was posted in hm, holiday, holiday inspiration, how to, ibiza. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

