Friend Friday #12: Product Placement

Source

1. As we watched the Chilean Miners being rescued last week, there were many things to take note of – the amazing faith of these people, the joy of life, love and family, and – interestingly enough – product placement. As you watched the rescue efforts did you notice the products? What were your thoughts?

Product placement is the least offence form of advertising in my humble opinion as it is the least intrusive.

I admit that when watching the amazing events as the Chilean Miners were rescued last week and holding my breath until each came up to the surface, I didn’t pay any attention to what make of sunglasses they were wearing and wouldn’t have done until I read about it for this post! So it didn’t work for me.

In general, I don’t seem to notice the product placements all that much apart from Apple product placement. That seems to be everywhere. And often it’s not limited to one thing, it is everything. E.g. in a television series, suddenly everyone has an iPhone, an iPod, a Macbook. Then I kind of zone out of the programme and just get annoyed! I’d still like an iPhone though!! So maybe it does work.

2. Product placement is all around us today, what do you think makes it such a marketing gold mine?

Product placement only works so well in today’s culture because of the cult of the celebrity that has grown in recent years. We covet what we see a celebrity with because we think it will make us more like them. So when we see our favourite character – on Gossip Girl or whatever – with an iPhone (for example!), we want one too. However, after a bit of reading about the whole Apple/product placement issue, I discovered that Gossip Girl is actually sponsored by Verizon and that, as a result, the Apple symbol on the Macs etc that the characters use have to be blocked out:

Source

Of course, fashionistas’ favourite, Sex and the City, is all about the product placement. Check these out for just two examples:

Source

Source

3. On your blog, either now or in the future, what is/will be your stance on highlighting specific products?

I am happy (hello, PRs!) to highlight specific products on my blog, IF they are things that I might have used anyway or I feel my readers would be interested in, i.e. they must remain within the spirit of my fashion and lifestyle blog which focuses on a budget. I’m not going to start highlighting gardening tools or car maintenance handbooks or anything “off topic” like that.

4. If the opportunity arose would you give a bad review of a product?

I would rather keep the tone of my blog as positive one and therefore I think that if there was something that I felt negative about or had had a bad experience with I would probably chose not to write anything. If someone asked me – in a comment or by email – about a specific product I would give them my honest opinion.

5. Do you view your blog as a product? Where have you or do you hope to place it?

I don’t think I have ever thought of my blog like this but I think that in a sense, yes it is. I do “advertise” it I suppose, through Twitter, on IFB, through the Friend Friday conversation and on British Style Bloggers. I don’t place it in a conventional sense and I’m not sure how I would. But I do think that every time we leave a comment anywhere and leave a link to our blog, we are, in a sense, advertising the product.

What do you think of product placement? Is it distracting? Does it work for you?

Remember, to visit Modly Chic to read the other contributions to this week’s discussion and for more information if you would like to join the Friend Friday conversation.

About sugarandspicesg

fashion blogger
This entry was posted in friend friday, sex and the city. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Friend Friday #12: Product Placement

  1. Courtney says:

    You're the second FBFF blog I saw to mention SATC. I'm beginning to wonder if that show was one big commercial LOL. Now I know why I wanted extreme dyed roots and millions of shoes!Courtneyhttp://thosegraces.com

  2. love your responses. i too never thought of my blog as a product until responding to these questions.kendrahttp://closetconfections.com

  3. Kelly says:

    The thing that cracks me up is when the products are placed on/with characters who wouldn't actually use them, IMO. Like Carrie – she never seemed to really be into technology. In one sense maybe she would like an Apple computer because they're more idiot-proof (my home computer is a Mac, so I'm not trying to insult anyone who has one!) but on the other hand, she cares so little about technology that I can't see her paying almost twice as much for a laptop.It's a silly detail, one people probably don't think about much, but *that* is when product placement really bugs me. When it seems out of character.

  4. vint junky says:

    great post lady!i've became so used to all the product placement and advertising i barely notice now. although i'm not sure if i'm immune or it's just subliminal!x

  5. Veshoevius says:

    Yeah SATC and Apple was one that sprang instantly to mind for me for this Friend Friday too (though in my TV-less quarters I had to watch all the series back to back on DVD – funnily enough on a Mac!!)

  6. Fuyume says:

    i pretty much agreed with everythin u said here. i think im immune to product placement i never seem to notice 🙂

Leave a Reply

