How to… tell if you are a SHOPAHOLIC

Last year I gave up shopping for six months in an effort to overcome my addiction. Sophie Kinsella’s book – Confessions of a Shopaholic – which was then made into a film, makes light of the habit which for many women is no laughing matter.

Apparently, admitting you have a problem is the first step to solving that problem. Apparently. Although I admitted that I had a problem a very long time ago, I still seem incapable of kicking the habit.

Here, I will give you the five ways to tell if you – too – are a SHOPAHOLIC:

1. You hide purchases and trips to the shops: from your mum, your boyfriend, your husband, whoever. I am completely guilty of doing this! I often shove my shopping bags in the bottom of my wardrobe to get out at a later date when the boyf isn’t around.

2. You have credit cards – and mounting debt – that no-one else knows about. Thankfully, this is something I do not have. Although have been known to over-spend in a month.

3. You are an emotional shopper: you shop when happy/sad/angry/whatever. I think I have admitted that I do this before. When I was at university, I would use a rubbish class, a boring lecture or a good grade as an excuse to go shopping.

4. You neglect your “needs” in order to pay for your shopping trips: bills, rent and food goes out of the window and in come shoes, clothes, make-up, jewellery. I admit, when I was at university, I thought nothing of living on beans on toast for a week in order to pay for a new outfit; today, however, I enjoy my food too much!

5. You are a compulsive buyer: you see something you want and you buy it. I’m getting better about this. I know where there are gaps in my wardrobe and what I need and tend to buy these instead of impulsive buys. But sometimes, something is just too good to miss!

Are you a shopaholic? Come on, no need to hide here.

About sugarandspicesg

fashion blogger
This entry was posted in how to, shopping ban. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to… tell if you are a SHOPAHOLIC

  1. #1 Yes – I hide them but eventually, my mom & boyfriend still see it when I wear it. Lol#2 No – My parents wouldnt give me a credit card for this reason.#3 Yes – I shop even when Im hungry, bored, sleepy, tired. Name it. I think I've gone crazy.#4 Yes – I spend my money on clothes and accessories and my mom handles the food part. :D#5 Yes – Ehm. I try not to bring much cash when I go to the mall. It really works! I dont buy on impulse!4 out of 5. Not too shabby? 🙂http://www.gayleisvolatile.blogspot.comP.S. Hope you like my post on new ring buys!

Leave a Reply

