Friend Friday #8: Fashion Dos and Don’ts

So many stylish women – bloggers, celebrities, models – profess to be “free spirits” and are held up for their “unique” sense of style. But for the rest of us – mere mortals attempting to navigate our way through the oft confusing world of fashion – there seem to be a whole host of rules, of fashion dos and don’ts. Socks and sandals/boots/platforms with bare legs were all over the catwalks in New York and London for Spring/Summer 2011 – again – but how good to these actually look on the everyday woman in the street?

This week’s Friend Friday topic is all about those fashion hits and misses, all of those dos and don’ts:

1. What do you think are some of the top fashion don’ts? (Things you would never be caught dead in and cringe when other people wear them.)

Denim shirts. More particularly denim shirts tucked into jeans. With a denim jacket. Eek. I know that double denim was all “in” last season and will be again next season but, no. For me, it just looks all wrong.

UPDATE: After reading Taxonomy Of My Wardrobe’s post, I have to add Crocs. Such a bad invention. Why anyone would wear them, I do not know but why anyone would wear them out, I am at a loss!

And after my appraisal of LFW’s Fashion East show, I also have to add, socks with man sandals, like Birkenstocks. No no no. Never looks good. Always looks like a middle-aged British man abroad!

2. What previous fashion don’t do you now wear with pride?

“Jeggings”. I’ve been a huge fan of skinny jeans for years but always thought that jeggings were something I’d never get my head around. Until I found the perfect pair.
I am also going to be trying out the socks with ankle boots and bare legs look this week. I think.

3. Do you think there is a universal fashion do?
I don’t know whether it counts as a do as such, but my must for Autumn/Winter is black opaque tights. And skinny jeans – whatever the season!

4. What items lately, either recently in style or coming in now, do you think should never make it off the retail shelves?
Furry everything. I know that it was Chanel that started it but furry boots and bags – really?! I have furry slippers but I wouldn’t wear them out of the house. You will look like an eskimo who is lost.

5. In your opinion, is there any blogger, fashion icon, celebrity who some how manages to pull off some fashion don’ts and still look good?
Alexa Chung. She even managed to pull off my double denim cringe:
And Katie, off-of What Katie Wore. That girl knows how to work a million colours in one look and funky tights and leg ties and more!

What are you fashion dos and don’ts?

If you want to join the conversation each week, or if you would just like to read the other posts for this week’s topic, please visit Modly Chic.

Happy Friday everyone!

About sugarandspicesg

fashion blogger
This entry was posted in friend friday. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Friend Friday #8: Fashion Dos and Don’ts

  1. Veshoevius says:

    I plead guilty to double denim! Great photo choice of the Chanel collection – God what was Karl Lagerfeld thinking!

  2. That furry chanel stuff is god awful, I'm not a fan of furry stuff at all really. But we have opposite ideas on jeggins and double denim, lol. I think the right 2 pieces of denim can work but I really thing Jeggings are unflattering! Sorry. Daisy Dayz HomeCross-Jones-Photography Home Daisy Dayz Day Zero Challenge

  3. FortyNotOut says:

    Skinnies and opaques.. yes! Always! Double denim is just double wrong in my eyes and if I were Carrie Bradshaw I would definitely be trying the over the knee sock thing. But Im not – so I wont! xx

  4. Denim-on-demin is awful, although SOMETIMES it can be ok, like Alexa Chung's look. I wouldn't wear it,but she looks good.

  5. Oh gosh those gorilla suits look horrible. Why would anybody ever think that should even make it down the runway.www.noguiltfashion.blogspot.com

  6. KT says:

    The double denim thing is tricky. You have to be really impressive to pull it off. I think What I Wore does it well, but most people just look silly in the Texan Tuxedo. – Katy

  7. I kind of agree about the denim shirts. I've seen them pulled off really well, but I'm definitely NOT going for the trend myself. xxooTess

  8. Jilliebeanie says:

    I thought the same thing about denim/denim when the trend reappeared a few months ago, but I am proud to say that I tried it a few days ago and loved what I came up with. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to get a picture.No denim jacket for me though…not yet anyway…

  9. Philli says:

    Alexa! she is my complete style-crush, i love pretty much anything she wears. I know what you mean about double denim, though i have to admit i have a denim shirt that makes it out of my wardrobe now and again!

  10. Anonymous says:

    Assolutamente d'accordo con lei. L'idea di un bene, sono d'accordo con lei.Condivido pienamente il suo punto di vista. In questo nulla in vi e 'una buona idea. Pronta a sostenere voi.

  11. annabelle says:

    i think the furry chanel looks extra comfy! x

  12. In my personal opinion there is no such thing as fashion dos and don'ts. i say this because you can think something is hideous yet you see someone wearing it and they look great. it all depends on body type, personality, and how a person wears something. the right person could wear a garbage bag with confidence and have other people saying "hey that garbage bag looks pretty good" i think this is how trends are started.the right person wearing something they love with comfort and confidence.

Leave a Reply

