Friend Friday #1: Privacy



I’m very happy to have been accepted to participate in Modly Chic’s Friend Friday series. The premise is to create interaction between bloggers. Every Friday all of those particpating bloggers will share their thoughts on a specific topic and read what others have to say on that same topic.


This week’s topic is “privacy”. I know that this is something that concerned my mother a lot from the minute that we had the internet at home. Of course, we didn’t have the internet when we were little – both my sister and I were in our late teens by the time the internet really took off and therefore more than capable of understanding the dangers of chatrooms and the like.


It is a mother’s job to worry, however, and even when I first talked to her about my blog a year ago, she was worried about the privacy side of it. She has come round now. But privacy and the issues surrounding it is something which all bloggers should be aware of. Here are my answers to this week’s questions:


1. Do you think privacy is something we should worry about as bloggers?


Privacy on my blog was something that worried me when i started and i started writing under the pen name, Shopgirl. But given that I have photos of myself on here, it does seem a little silly.


2. Do you use your real name or a pen name? What was behind that decision?


As said above, I do use a pen name but again as above, I’m not really sure it makes much of a difference as I have photos of myself on here and my Twitter name has my real name on it now too.


3. How much personal information do you reveal about your life beyond the blog?


I don’t think that I have revealed where I work on here. This has been a conscious decision. I am also careful not to post photographs of people in my life – friends, the boyf, family, etc – without their prior consent.


4. What will you never reveal?


I still haven’t decided whether I will ever reveal my actual job.


5. As bloggers, we have to an extent made ourselves ‘public’ figures. But still there are things that are intimate to each of us that does not need to be known by anyone that stumbles across our blog. How do you determine what is appropriate for public consumption and what is private to you?


I guess that I reveal as much as I would to an acquaintance – rather than a close friend – plus a little bit more, maybe. Despite the fact that many of my work colleagues don’t know about my blog, I do often think, “would I reveal this to my work colleagues?” and if so, it is probably ok to put up!


Check out this week’s and previous weeks’ Friend Friday over at Modly Chic here.

About sugarandspicesg

fashion blogger
This entry was posted in friend friday. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friend Friday #1: Privacy

  1. MJ says:

    Great answers!I don't talk about my work or what I do. I just think that as my "other life" and with the exception of a small group of coworkers, of whom I hang out with outside of work, I keep the two separate as much as I can – but like you said – I don't put up stuff that I would be embarrassed to reveal to people at work!

Leave a Reply

