Monday Morning Pic-Me-Up

As today is Easter Monday and my dad spent yesterday giving me a little tour of our garden and the new life that is emerging for spring, I thought I would share some of my photos with you:   


A hyacinth


A crocus


A daffodil – possibly my favourite flower (after sunflowers) – I love the happy yellow colour and the time of year that their presence invokes


A double hellebore, also known as a Christmas rose


Primroses


Another beautiful daffodil


More primroses


Leaf shoots on a red crab apple tree


As before, more leaf shoots on a red crab apple tree

All of this new life is so encouraging. It makes one optimistic, I think. It’s better than a new year I feel as you feel as if you could do anything, rather than in the cold of January.

The daffodils reminded me of a poem I used to read as a child and so I hunted it out for you too:

Daffodowndilly
by A A Milne

She wore her yellow sun-bonnet,
She wore her greenest gown;
She turned to the south wind
And curtsied up and down.
She turned to the sunlight
And shook her yellow head,
And whispered to her neighbour:
“Winter is dead.”
About sugarandspicesg

fashion blogger
This entry was posted in monday morning pic-me-up. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monday Morning Pic-Me-Up

  1. laura emily says:

    Lovely photos! My parents have been gardening this weekend, so there is a plethora of spring flowers just waiting to be gazed at. The Christmas rose is so lovely, we must get some!

  2. PinkBow says:

    happy easter to you!

  3. Harriet says:

    Beautiful flowers, I love seeing everything emerge slowly after winter. At the moment the roads are filled with blossom round here and it is so beautiful to see.

Leave a Reply

